About Me

George, Me and Lurcher SOS fundraising woolly Lurcher, Miss Myrtle in Kefalonia.
Too Much Retsina
I live in a semi-rural area of north Derbyshire with my lovely husband George and Ruby the  ex-racing Greyhound. We have recently got chickens for the second time, as we really missed them. I have two daughters, Emma, who lives fairly near us with Tom and our two lovely grandchildren - 6 year old Lottie and 4 year old Oliver, whilst Claire is in London with James.
Ruby Dooby Doo
Following six years of bad health when I had to give up my job, we moved on the doctor's advice, and in the last two years I started to get better. At the end of 2010, I started to think of something I might be able to do to earn some money and feel useful. With my lifelong love of animals, particularly dogs, I turned to dog grooming. I did the training and now have a teeny little salon in our spare room. I can't do too much because of my joints, but I love it! You can see my customers on my Doggy Dazzlers page here, or on my website -  http://www.doggy-dazzlers.net/

Around the same time, it became clear that George was becoming increasingly unhappy in his job, and in February 2011 he was forced to leave. It was a scary thing to do at our age, but like many people these days there was no choice. Having taken some time to think and regroup, he decided to start a sharpening business, also at home, servicing scissors and clippers for hairdressers and groomers, as well as chef's knives. This is in the early stages at the moment, but looks promising.

The dream we are trying to attain will be some time off, as all this unemployment has been rather expensive, but we will keep trying to get there. A proper kitchen garden, some chickens, bees and if possible the odd pig or goat (or alpaca or two!) would be wonderful, especially if it could be in Devon or the Isle of Wight - Ah, heaven!!!
Hope Cove, Devon Heaven